Skip to main content

Matti Aapro MD

Matti Aapro MD, received his medical degree from the Faculty of Medicine, University of Geneva, Switzerland. He was a fellow at the Arizona Cancer Center in Tucson and the founding chair of the Medical and Radiation Therapy Department at the European Institute of Oncology in Milan.

Dr Aapro is presently a Member of the Board of Directors of the Genolier Cancer Centre as well as a Member of the Breast Centre in Genolier, Switzerland.

He is a Board member of ECCO ( European CanCer Organisation ). He serves the International Society for Geriatric Oncology (SIOG) as Executive Board Member. He is Executive Board member of the European School of Oncology (ESO) and coordinates the SPCC programme of ESO. He is past-President of the Multinational Association for Supportive Care in Cancer (MASCC). He is President of Honour of the French-speaking Society for Supportive Care ( AFSOS ), as well as  Advisor to the Japanese Association for Supportive Care in Cancer (JASCC ). He has been member of the Board of the European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC) and of the European Society of Medical Oncology (ESMO).

Dr Aapro chaired the scientific and organizing committees of UICC’s (International Union against Cancer) World Cancer Congress of 2008 in Geneva, and 2010 in Shenzhen (China). He is a member of the ESMO Faculty and chairs the ESMO 2017 Supportive/Palliative Care track. He is a board member of the Advanced Breast Cancer (ABC) meeting. Dr Aapro is Editor-in-Chief of Critical Reviews in Oncology/Hematology, as well as Associate Editor for the geriatric section of the Oncologist and Editor-in-Chief of the Web site He is also founding editor of the Journal of Geriatric Oncology.  He is past Associate Editor for Annals of Oncology, continuing on its editorial board,  and member of several other editorial boards. He has authored more than 350 publications and his major interests are new drug development, breast cancer, cancer in the elderly, and supportive care.

Dr Aapro is Doctor Honoris Causa of the University of Tampere (2013) and Honorary Member of the Russian Society for Oncology (RUSSCO)(2016). He has received the 2010 Acta Oncologica Award, the 2012 ASCO B.J. Kennedy prize and the MASCC Distinguished Services Award (2016).