Skip to main content

Medicine Matters oncology

Myung-Ju Ahn is Professor of Hemato-Oncology in the Department of Medicine at Sungkyunkwan University School of Medicine in Seoul, Korea. She is a member of numerous associations and societies dedicated to cancer research, such as the International Society of Lung Cancer Association, the American Association of Cancer Research, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, the Korean Society of Medical Oncology and the Korean Cancer Study Group, where she is also Chief of the executive committee and chairperson of Lung Cancer Disease Committee. She was a president of the Korean Society of Medical Oncology (2018-2019) and she was a president of the Multidisciplinary Immuno-oncology Study Group (2017-2018). She serves as a board member for the Korean Association of Cancer and the Korean Society of Medical Oncology, Korean Association for Lung Cancer, and Korean Association for Cancer, and also serves on the Editorial board of Journal of Thoracic Oncology.

Professor Ahn received her education from Hanyang University College of Medicine in Seoul, where she earned her medical degree, as well as her doctorate. She completed her residency training in internal medicine at Hanyang University Hospital, and held numerous fellowships, including a postdoctoral research fellowship at the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center in New York, USA.

Professor Ahn has authored or co-authored over 250 publications. Her research interests include the development of predictive and prognostic marker in lung cancer in terms of personalized therapy, and her recent research focuses on the early clinical trial for the development of drug discovery and reposition of targeted drugs, as well as the development of NSCLC genome atlas. In recognition of her dedication to cancer research, she has been awarded multiple honours, including the 2003 Best Researcher Award from the Korean Medical Women’s Association, the 2015 Best Researcher Award from the Korean Association of Clinical Oncology, and the 2018 Boryoung Scientific Award from the Korean Cancer Research Foundation.